Spanish writers

Spanish writers

Michel de Cervantes

miguel de cervantesMiguel de Cervantes Saavedra (Alcalá de Henares 1547 – Madrid 1616) was a prvySpanish soldier, a writer, a poet and a playwright. He is one of the most important figures in the Spanish literature and he is well-known for the Ingenious Hidalgo Don Quixote (commonly known as Don Quixote), a text that has marked a turning point in the genre of the novel and that is considered to be one of the best works of world literature: it represents the first modern and polyphonic novel (it interprets reality through various points of view that overlap creating a picture of the full and confused reality). The theme of the game revolves around the possibility of finding an ideal in the reality; a topic closely linked to the ethical concept of freedom in human life. The work also considers other themes: the ideal of literature, the ideal of love, the political ideal, and the justice one. Cervantes has brought the formula of realism through the parody and the teasing of fantastic, the social criticism, the emphasis on psychological values and the descriptive materialism.

Federico García Lorca

garciaFederico García Lorca (Granada 1898-1936) linked to the Generation of 27, was the most influential poet of 20th-century in Spanish literature. He died shot after the coup that led to the Spanish Civil War only one month after the beginning of it.

Lorca’s poem reflects a tragic sense of life in which folk tradition and culture live. In fact, the 27th Generation fuses traditional forms of poetry (neopopularity) with avant-garde movements; it deals with the same themes of tradition (death, tragic sense, love considered to be main elements that give meaning to life, social concerns such as injustice, poverty, etc.) through the use of metaphor and image.

Lorca frequently uses symbols and metaphors in his poetry. The moon represents the death or sometimes fertility; current water is a symbol of vitality but when it is not moving it symbolizes death. This one is also symbolized by the image of the horse, the spilled blood, and the grass.

Arturo Pérez-Reverte

retreveteGutierrez Arturo Pérez-Reverte (Cartagena, 1951) is a Spanish writer and journalist, member of the Real Academy of Spain since 2003. Reporter of various armed conflicts and wars, journalist and author of the series The Capitan Alatriste adventures.

As a war correspondent he traveled to Cyprus, Lebanon, Western Sahara, El Salvador, Nicaragua, Chad, Libya, Sudan, Mozambique, Angola, and so on but it is the war in Eritrea of 1977 which  marked him in particular: he  disappeared for few months and he survived thanks to his guerrilla friends.


Regarding literature, he is particularly devoted to the historical novel. The adventures of Capitan Alatriste are a set of seven novels published since 1996, based on the adventures of Diego Alatriste y Tenorio, a veteran soldier of the Flanders who lives in Madrid in the seventeenth century, entrusting his sword to all those who need it.

Carlos Ruiz Zafòn

caarlosCarlos Ruiz Zafón (Barcelona, 1964) is a Spanish writer, author of several bestseller books, in particular The Shadow of the Wind, winner of numerous awards and selected in 2007 on the list of the best 81 Latin American and Spanish writers and critics about the best 100 Spanish-language books in the last 25 years.


The Shadow of the Wind is the first part of a series of four interconnected novels set in a mysterious and Gothic Barcelona that goes back to the era of industrial revolution years after the Spanish Civil War. The four parts are independent of each other but share some characters and scenarios. Next, we have The Game of the Angel (2008), The Prisoner of Heaven (2011) and The Labyrinth of Spirits (2016).

Uso de cookies

Este sitio web utiliza cookies para que usted tenga la mejor experiencia de usuario. Si continúa navegando está dando su consentimiento para la aceptación de las mencionadas cookies y la aceptación de nuestra política de cookies, pinche el enlace para mayor información.plugin cookies

Aviso de cookies